It’s all OK for us, Coz we are Men !!

It was a normal tea-time chit-chat with a friend of mine. We were touching through various topics and this discussion of movies came when he asked which movie I saw last. My answer was Metro, and as expected his next question was how I found it. To which my one-liner answer was, “It’s an extreme negative example of an arranged marriage.”

And before I realized, I was dragged into an unwanted discussion. So as it had already started, I had to end it with proper answers. And shockingly I discovered, what a cheap thinking this man had whom I used to respect. According to him in the movie though shilpa’s character is of a perfect wife, he found KK’s character of perfect husband!!! How on earth one can agree to this silly point, where that character was shown so selfish and narrow-minded, and so I had innocently believed that it was kind of exaggeration in the movie. May be such kind of Men are there somewhere in India, but I was pretty sure that the guys whom I interact with and who represent the youth of 21st century will definitely not fall into that category.

All my arguments/comments to change his mindset were useless to him and he chose to stick to his only one counter-argument, “We live in Indian society where it’s OK for guys to do anything, you know, ‘ladko ke liye sab chalta hai’, it can’t exactly be called ditching or being disloyal as far as they are not breaking the marriage, but the same can never be acceptable for a wife!!!” Well, He turned out to be one of those obstinate, close-minded people, whom I usually hate to argue with and I anyhow did not want to argue more on this shit mentality of his, coz he wasn’t worth it, but I was again dismayed when he claimed that most of the guys of his age carry the same mindset!

Now I am asking to the guys reading this blog to post their honest point of view.. are you all really fall into the same category as this guy?

Posted on July 12, 2007, in Feminist?. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. yaar, I think this is very common amongst Indian society ie people (i.e. both men and women) agree ki ladka kuch bhi kare chalta hai but ladke ka bhura naam ho to usse shaadi kaun karega. Married women lose out on marriages. But I always thought this to be common amongst uneducated people who still dwell in old customs and would not let go of their traditions (be it good or bad). If an educated male has commented in such a way, it only means I was wrong. Sorry, cant help much here but I will have to find a way to ask my would be hubby abt this before I agree to marry him…(:-D)

  2. yeah pommy, and I am actually against this tradition of guys easy going with whatever they do without giving equal importance gals’ counter-actions. But by this, I dont mean to say that girls should also start going on that track, it’s just that “definition of ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ should not be different for guys and gals.” Oh do you really feel that you’ll have to find a way to ask this about your ‘would be’? well dear, you cant ask this, you just need to figure out.. 😉

  3. My honest opinion.. hmmmmm.. where do I start..

    1. Not all guys are jerk. Unfortunately I can’t deny the existence of idiots like the one in the blog.

    2. What baffles me is how do you people end up being friends with jerk(s) like these?

    3. Another reality is that a lot of girls are conditioned to accept the male dominance and allied crap. They lack self-respect as well as the basic concept of equality. A lot of jerks breed on this self-respect lacking group of women.

    4. Me.. I’m obsessed wid equality to the point tht people thnk I’m insane.

  4. hey mohit, gud to know your ideas.. girls like me generally assume that the guys with whom we deal with are well educated and they are not jerks like this.. but i forgot that everything has some exception.. 🙂

  5. Well.. seju.. I m not sure as some times guys do pass such weird not thoughts but fascination. But yeah.. I’m gonna take thsi topic as general discussion with my ofc colleagues.

  6. As long as there exist movies of this kind, nothing is gonna change. Movies are made according to peoples interest, which means there exists women who tend to accept “this”. I too had a thought, will there be a day when I could see no movie commenting on love. Hell with love, its all just one topic, how many stories one could create, permutations say only one, but the directors make it infinite. least one who protest could do is to stop encouraging these kind of movies.

Leave a Reply

